God’s group thoughts for 7/22/2013 “Bill is with the Lord”

“Our Daily Bread”     http://odb.org/

The Daily Devotions of Greg Laurie                                  

http://www.harvest.org/devotional/daily-devotions/home.ht   

“Homily Grits Devotional”   http://www.homilygrits.com/

2 Corinthians 5:8We are confident, yes, well pleased rather to be absent from the body and to be present with the Lord.  (NKJV)

I had in mind to write about being obedient to the Lord, because of an audio message I listened to this morning by Dr. Charles Stanley, dated July 19th, that he titled… “Rewards for Obedience”…  You can find this 20 minute audio sermon, by going to http://www.intouch.org/broadcast/audio-archives and scrolling down to 7/19/2013…

Many times I will take a short nap before I write, and meditate on what I am about to write on…   When I woke up, I knew what the Lord wanted me to write about today…  More about this later… 

There is a change in plans for my writing today, because I must be obedient to the Lord...  

My brother-in-law Bill Bennett passed away last Friday morning (7/19/2013)… Today I dedicate my writing to Bill’s memory, in hope of giving family and friends that knew Bill, some peace at this most trying time for anyone’s life…  We just don’t know why God would call Bill home at such a young age…  But we do know that God’s plan is always perfect…and that somehow there will be good to come through Bill’s death, caused by cancer at the age of only 56…

The Apostle Paul pens this, in…Romans 8:28And we know that all things work together for good to those who love God, to those who are the called according to His purpose.  (NKJV)

I returned from my sister-in-law Loretta’s house late Friday morning, after giving the family my condolences, and leaving my wife Madeline to stay with her sister…  After my daily prayers, I picked up my Bible for my Q/T reading, where I am now in the Book of Psalms…   After reading several Psalms, ending with Psalm 22…I thought I was finished…  But I was urged to turn the page and read one more Psalm…  It was the 23rd Psalm, written by David…and perhaps one of the most memorized pieces of scripture in the Bible…  Here is the link for this memorable writing, about David’s vision of the Lord being our Shepherd… http://www.biblegateway.com/passage/?search=ps23&version=NKJV;KJV

I honestly didn’t put 2 + 2 together, realizing the 23rd Psalm  would be next, until I turned the page…  I said to myself, how ironic it was that I was urged to read one more Psalm…  And how fitting, that it would be the 23rd Psalm for my brother-in-law Bill…  I read the words slowly…letting them sink into my meager brain…Colossians 3:16…  I will never forget the feeling that came over me, after finishing the last verse…

Psalm 23:6Surely goodness and mercy shall follow me All the days of my life; And I will dwell in the house of the Lord Forever(NKJV)   The Lord was telling me that Bill was now with Him !!

I told my sister-in-law Loretta later on Friday afternoon, about my peace at believing that Bill was now with the Lord……  I have recently done several days writing with Bill in mind…with writing on 7/11 and 7/12 being the most important…  My writing was especially important on 7/11/2013, where the gospel of our Lord Jesus Christ is presented…and where there is a link for a 20 minute audio sermon by Dr. Stanley, where he presents the gospel of Christ on his audio sermon dated 7/09/2013, that is titled…“The Truth about Sin – Part 2”… 

You can find both of these days of important writing, by going to www.Godsmanforever.wordpress.com and typing in 7/11/2013 and then 7/12/2013 into the search window…if there is any interest in reading and hearing about God’s only way of having sins forgiven…

I wasn’t going to publish this personal family story about my peace with Bill being in heaven, until I took my short nap just before I started writing today’s thoughts…  I was urged by the Holy Spirit while I slept, that this is what I should spend my day writing about…  There really is a supernatural peace beyond our mortal understanding, which only comes from God, with the indwelling of the Holy Spirit…

The following scripture is one of my favorites; because of the absolute truth that it will bring to those that belong to Christ’s family as a born again Christian… Philippians 4:6-7Be anxious for nothing, but in everything by prayer and supplication, with thanksgiving, let your requests be made known to God; and the peace of God, which surpasses all understanding, will guard your hearts and minds through Christ Jesus.  (NKJV)

Bill had this supernatural peace, when I saw him for the last time, a few days ago…that only God can give His children, even in the face of imminent death…  A supernatural peace which surpasses all understanding…  While we will miss Bill in the days, weeks, months, and years to come…our family should all be at peace with the belief that Bill is now present with the Lord…2 Corinthians 5:8  

We should also take comfort is reading the following scripture, penned by the Apostle John for Christians, through revelation with Jesus Christ, in…Revelation 21:4And God will wipe away every tear from their eyes; there shall be no more death, nor sorrow, nor crying. There shall be no more pain, for the former things have passed away.”  (NKJV)

Heavenly Father, I thank You for the comfort Your Word will bring to those that You recognize as Your children…  Your Word is living and powerful, and sharper than any two-edged sword…Hebrews 4:12-13…  I pray Lord, that You would draw those that You don’t yet recognize as Your children, to Yourself…John 6:44…  And that the truth from Your Word, through obedience to the gospel of Your Son Jesus Christ, would set them free from Satan’s chains of bondage…John 8:32…  I pray for this fullness of Christ in all of our lives, in Jesus’ most precious name and for His sake…Amen…

Blessings in Christ,  bruce

P.S. Here is a link for this most important days writing, about how God’s grace is received to become a Christian in God’s eyes; through understanding and obeying the gospel of our Lord Jesus Christ… https://godsmanforever.wordpress.com/2013/07/11/gods-group-thoughts-for-7112013-the-truth-about-sin/

About Godsmanforever

I present posts about God's Word, with a personal focus on how God's grace is received through saving faith in the Lord Jesus Christ... Sinners must understand and obey the Gospel of our Lord Jesus Christ... See this link for more... http://godsmanforever.com/2014/10/26/the-truth-about-sin-10262014-by-bruce-reposted-from-7112013/
This entry was posted in Bible, Catholic, Christ, Christianity, Daily Devotion, Exortation, faith, God, Holiness, Hope, Jesus Christ, Love, Mercy, Peace, Praise and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to God’s group thoughts for 7/22/2013 “Bill is with the Lord”

  1. Amen! We will keep you and your family in our prayers. God bless you! Always a friend 🙂

Leave a Reply

