“IT’S ABOUT TIME!” 10/21/2015 by Dave Boller

Our Daily Bread” http://odb.org
The Daily Devotions of Greg Laurie http://www.harvest.org/devotional

Written by Dave Boller for “Working for Christ” @ http://work4christ.wordpress.com

View original @ https://work4christ.wordpress.com/2015/10/14/its-about-time-3/

IT’S ABOUT TIME!

A person’s days are determined; you have decreed the number of his months and have set limits he cannot exceed. (Job 14:5, NIV)

Job 14_5

We are limited to twenty-four hours a day, every day. As much as we would like, we don’t have the luxury to extend the amount of time which is available to us.  And, not only are we limited to the number of hours available in the day, we are also limited as to the number of days we have here on earth. Unfortunately, none of us can be certain as to how many days, weeks, months, or years we may live. Only God knows for sure. We often act, though, as if we are going to live forever – as if we are invincible and can do whatever we please for as long as we please.

Our time is scarce. It’s extremely valuable. The way we spend every minute of every day is important, not only to us, but also to God. If we’re not careful and intentional, external factors will govern the allocation of our time. Things that are most urgent, not necessarily the most important, will claim top priority and we will begin to lose control of our time.

I can’t tell you how many times I commit myself to spending at least a half hour every morning in worship. My intentions are good, but when I sit down at my computer, the first thing I do is to check my email. What a mistake! There is always something that needs a reply or my attention in some way. Before I realize it, I’m caught up in the daily grind. All of a sudden, I’m too busy to spend a few minutes with the Lord. Or, just as I get started with my quiet, worship time, the phone rings. I can’t let it go. I’ve got to answer it. I have to take care of whatever or whoever needs me. I’m important, you know. I must be or they wouldn’t have called me. And, again, the Lord is on the back burner.

It’s hard to stay focused when we are so busy. I started this “post” this past Saturday while my wife was shopping at the mall. I sat down in the food court with a cup of Starbucks coffee and my computer and started writing. I got to the previous paragraph (where “the Lord is on the back burner”) and guess what? I placed the Lord on the back burner …. again! Here it is Wednesday and I’m finally going to finish this.

I don’t know about you, but I need the Lord in my life. I need Him daily! I need Him when things are going well and I need Him when things aren’t going the way I’d like. I need Him because He is a friend. He’s someone who can fill me with love, forgiveness, gentleness, peace, and happiness. I need to do better! I need to keep Him first in everything I do!

Enjoy your day, “Working for Christ!”

Work for Christ

About Godsmanforever

I present posts about God's Word, with a personal focus on how God's grace is received through saving faith in the Lord Jesus Christ... Sinners must understand and obey the Gospel of our Lord Jesus Christ... See this link for more... http://godsmanforever.com/2014/10/26/the-truth-about-sin-10262014-by-bruce-reposted-from-7112013/
This entry was posted in Bible, Catholic, Christ, Christianity, Daily Devotion, Exortation, faith, God, Gospel, Holiness, Hope, Jesus Christ, Love, Mercy, Peace, Praise and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

