“Cruise Control Christianity” 11/13/2016 Written by Beth Andrews of “Deeper Roots”

“Our Daily Bread”     http://odb.org

The Daily Devotions of Greg Laurie    http://www.harvest.org/devotional

Written by Beth Andrews of “Deeper Roots” @  https://dbethandrews.wordpress.com

Original post @   https://dbethandrews.wordpress.com/2016/11/10/cruise-control-christianity/

Cruise Control Christianity

cruising

“Wake up!  Strengthen what remains and is about to die” Revelation 3:3

I love the cruise control feature on my car.  I get my car moving at the posted speed limit, pop that little button and just enjoy the ride. With my cruise control set I don’t have to worry about keeping an eye on my speedometer.  I’m especially grateful for it when I pass a law enforcement vehicle looking for speeders. “Yep, got my cruise set, I’m good here.”  I’ve often wished I could set my Christian life on cruise control.  You know, work really hard to achieve the posted standard for Christianity and just ride.  “Yep, got my Christian cruise set, I’m good here.  Just enjoying the ride till I get to heaven.”  Wouldn’t that be so much easier?

Jesus had some pretty strong words for the church in Sardis in Revelation 3.  This is a church that felt they had achieved some great level of Christianity and they were just cruising along, business as usual.  But Jesus said they had “a reputation of being alive, but [were] dead” (v. 1).  He said their deeds – indeed their own selves – were incomplete, meaning they were not fulfilling God’s purpose for them, neither as a church nor as individuals.  He commanded them to “Wake up!” and to stand firm with resolve to keep their faith alive.

My friend, it is so easy to get into a Christian rut – to set the cruise and feel pretty safe in our Christianity.  But when we do, our zeal for the Lord begins to die and our faith becomes business as usual.  I know this one well.  Jesus told the church in Sardis: “Remember what you have received and heard; obey it and repent” (v. 3).  Remember your salvation.  Remember your calling.  Remember who you are and Whose you are. Beloved, is it time to wake up?

About Godsmanforever

I present posts about God's Word, with a personal focus on how God's grace is received through saving faith in the Lord Jesus Christ... Sinners must understand and obey the Gospel of our Lord Jesus Christ... See this link for more... http://godsmanforever.com/2014/10/26/the-truth-about-sin-10262014-by-bruce-reposted-from-7112013/
This entry was posted in Bible, Catholic, Christ, Christianity, Daily Devotion, Exortation, faith, God, Gospel, Holiness, Hope, Jesus Christ, Love, Mercy, Peace, Praise, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to “Cruise Control Christianity” 11/13/2016 Written by Beth Andrews of “Deeper Roots”

Leave a Reply

