“Illumination of Scripture by the Holy Spirit” 1/20/2017 Written by bruce r. mills

“Our Daily Bread”     http://odb.org/

The Daily Devotions of Greg Laurie    http://www.harvest.org/devotional

Image result for picture then he opened their minds to understand luke 24:45

“Illumination of Scripture by the Holy Spirit”

 

Written by bruce r. mills @  www.Godsmanforever.com

 

1 Corinthians 2:13-1413 These things we also speak, not in words which man’s wisdom teaches but which the Holy Spirit teaches, comparing spiritual things with spiritual. 14 But the natural man does not receive the things of the Spirit of God, for they are foolishness to him; nor can he know them, because they are spiritually discerned.  (NKJV)

Do you have a problem understanding the Bible when you read it ?? I am here to tell you, that if you do not have the Holy Spirit living within you (this is what defines a Christian in God’s eyes)…you will have a hard time trying to understand God’s Word…

But even if the Holy Spirit indwells you…if He is not in control of your life, with you seeking His help in understanding scripture, scripture will not be illuminated by Him… What is the illumination of scripture you ask ?? It is the Holy Spirit opening the eyes of your heart, to be able to help you understand scripture…  For an excellent link explaining the illumination of scripture…(See 1. Below)

I am reminded of a period in my own life, when I was not walking with the Lord (Galatians 5:16), when the Holy Spirit was not in control of my life… I had taken back control from the Holy Spirit, and He just sat back and let me flounder under my own direction… I would read scripture, and had a hard time understanding it…  My God given peace, and my joy in the Lord were all but gone…  I know I have shared this before, but I urge every reader to open the link below, titled “Grieving the Holy Spirit”, by REV. C.H. Spurgeon, from back in 1859… (See 2. below)  I could see myself sitting right there, as a person Spurgeon was preaching to that day…

It wasn’t until I got down on my knees, as Spurgeon suggested…and asked the Lord to take back control of my life, that I was again filled with the Holy Spirit (Ephesians 5:18-20)…  My God given peace and the joy of my salvation came flooding back into my heart, mind, and soul… Praise the Lord for prayers answered !!  Along with my fullness of joy in the Lord (John 15:11), and my peace beyond mortal understanding (Philippians 4:6-7), came the illumination of scripture, as I spent time reading and digesting God’s Word…

My friends…if you are a Christian, and you ignore the Holy Spirit when He gives you guidance and direction for your life…you are living in sin…  This is called the sin of omission, because you ignore the clear urging of the Holy Spirit…believing that you know better than God…  The Apostle James teaches us this, in…

James 4:17…   Therefore, to him who knows to do good and does not do it, to him it is sin.  (NKJV)

I spent a day writing about this dramatic change in my life, when I finally humbled myself and allowed the Holy Spirit to take back total control of my life, as a testimony to the amazing power of the Holy Spirit…that can be read at the link below…(See 3. below)

The illumination of scripture, as I spend time daily feeding my soul with the truth from God’s Word…has really helped me understand what God wants all Christians to understand…how best to live a Christ centered life, with the Holy Spirit in total control of all that we say and do…  If we neglect spending time daily in the Word…we are starving our spiritual growth, and can in no way be pleasing our Father in heaven… (See 4. Below, for an excellent app for reading (or listening to) the Bible in a year, with an 10 minute audio commentary by teacher/preacher Nicky Gumbel)

Jesus tells His Disciples (and us) this, in…

John 8:31-32…  Then Jesus said to those Jews who believed Him, If you abide in My word, you are My disciples indeed. 32 And you shall know the truth, and the truth shall make you free.”  (NKJV)

The Holy Spirit can and will help Christians understand scripture, and direct their lives down God’s path for their life… God promises to reward His children who diligently seek Him (Hebrews 11:6), but we have to humble ourselves, confess any and all sins (1 John 1:9) that keep us from Walking in the Spirit (Galatians 5:16)…and then, as Solomon teaches us in Proverbs 3:5-6…get out of our own way, and let the Lord direct our lives…

Blessings in Christ,  bruce

 

References:

  1. Illumination of scripture…  https://gotquestions.org/biblical-illumination.html

  2. “Grieving the Holy Spirit” sermon…  http://www.spurgeon.org/sermons/0278.php

  3. Testimony of a major change in my life…  https://godsmanforever.wordpress.com/…/tangible-proof-of-t…/

  4. Here is a link for reading (or daily listening to) the Bible in a year (available in Spanish, Hindi and Arabic, and Simplified Chinese)…with a 10 minute commentary by teacher preacher Nicky Gumbel…  https://godsmanforever.wordpress.com/2016/12/31/audio-bible-in-a-year-with-10-minute-audio-commentary-by-teacherpreacher-nicky-gumbel-12312016-written-by-bruce-r-mills/

    **********************************************************

Picture credit:  https://www.google.com/search?q=picture+then+he+opened+their+minds+to+understand+luke+24:45&rlz=1C1VFKB_enUS610US619&espv=2&biw=1189&bih=845&tbm=isch&tbo=u&source=univ&sa=X&ved=0ahUKEwiMwIjk4dDRAhWK7SYKHbBSCVoQsAQIOw#imgrc=CBkGgr6B-ZlIgM%3A

 

 

About Godsmanforever

I present posts about God's Word, with a personal focus on how God's grace is received through saving faith in the Lord Jesus Christ... Sinners must understand and obey the Gospel of our Lord Jesus Christ... See this link for more... http://godsmanforever.com/2014/10/26/the-truth-about-sin-10262014-by-bruce-reposted-from-7112013/
This entry was posted in Bible, Catholic, Christ, Christianity, Daily Devotion, Exortation, faith, God, Gospel, Holiness, Hope, Jesus Christ, Love, Mercy, Peace, Praise, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

