“The Need for Putting on God’s Complete Set of Spiritual Armor” 4/07/2017 Written by bruce r. mills for “God’s group”

“Our Daily Bread” http://odb.org

The Daily Devotions of Greg Laurie    http://www.harvest.org/devotional

                                  #Scripture Ephesians 6:12:

Written by bruce r. mills for “God’s group”  @  www.Godsmanforever.com

       (revised from 1/22/2011)

“The Need for Putting on God’s Complete Set of Spiritual Armor” 

 (Day 6)

 (For the first  5 days writing…type 4/02-06/2017, as separate dates into the search window of   www.Godsmanforever.com)

Ephesians 6:14b… having put on the breastplate of righteousness, (NKJV)

As I sit here thinking about how to present the breastplate of righteousness, the 5th piece of the “Whole Armor of God”, … I am realizing more and more how important wearing all 6 of these components to God’s full set of spiritual armor becomes, in the life of the Christian…

For new readers…Ephesians 6:10-20…is the scripture, where the apostle Paul wrote about “The Whole Armor of God”…  Here is the link for first time readers to read this important scripture for all Christians…  http://www.biblegateway.com/passage/?search=Ephesians6:10-20&version=NKJV

I had a conversation the other day with my dear friend, who has inspired me to write on the “Whole Armor of God”…  And I had a long talk last night with my dear Lil Sis Sharon, about her realizing now, that she was missing “The Helmet of Salvation” for a period of years…  Satan had infiltrated her mind, and had her believing that she was no good…

I can see in my life, and the first 2 people I have talked with, that all 3 of us have been, and/or continue to be missing at least one of these critical 6 pieces of God’s spiritual armor…  Unless we are wearing all 6 pieces of the protective armor the apostle Paul writes about in Ephesians…Satan can and will find this chink in our armor…  This chink, as I call it, leaves a crack in our fragile clay vessel, which will not allow us to be kept filled with the Holy Spirit…

I should have started this study on God’s armor with this scripture written by the apostle Paul, right before Paul goes into detail about “The Whole Armor of God”…  Paul writes this, in…

Ephesians 5:18-25… And do not be drunk with wine, in which is dissipation; but be filled with the Spirit, 19 speaking to one another in psalms and hymns and spiritual songs, singing and making melody in your heart to the Lord, 20 giving thanks always for all things to God the Father in the name of our Lord Jesus Christ, 21 submitting to one another in the fear of God.  (NKJV)

Doesn’t this scripture give you a picture of peace and completeness?   I knew I was saved by God’s grace, in the blink of an eye…after praying to the Lord for forgiveness of my sins with godly sorrow and a repentant heart…asking Jesus to come into my heart, to change my life…  Being given this new life in Christ as a born again Christian was an amazing experience…   Salvation is something only God can provide, when we seek Jesus Christ with 100% of our heart, mind, and soul, to become our personal Lord and Savior…   [See 1. Below for a presentation of the gospel of Christ, which must be understood and obeyed to be saved by God’s grace]

But just over 7 years after being saved by God’s grace and mercy…my God given peace, and the fullness of joy I had one experienced, was all but gone…  I had somehow allowed my own flesh to take back control of my life…  The Holy Spirit won’t force us to listen to and obey His guidance…

God’s saving grace should produce visible signs in our life that we have given up our old sinful life, and are doing our best to walk in the Spirit, as a new creation in Christ, and a child of God…instead of a child of Satan and the world…

I believe this original filling of the Holy Spirit at the time of salvation, can and will be compromised, if we don’t remain humble, and submitted to the leading of the Holy Spirit that God has given us to direct out life… We will never lose the Holy Spirit…but we can ignore Him, with Satan doing his best to take our focus off of the Lord…

I believe we must establish an offence to defeat Satan, by spending time reading the Word… The Sword of the Spirit…through prayer, seeking the will of God…and by putting on the Lord Jesus Christ each and every morning, before we step out into the world…

Romans 13:14…   But put on the Lord Jesus Christ, and make no provision for the flesh, to fulfill its lusts. (NKJV)

The sooner we learn about the “Whole Armor of God” through reading and applying God’s Word to our lives, the sooner we will be able to stand firm against Satan and his demon friends…

Ephesians 6:11…   Put on the whole armor of God, that you may be able to stand against the wiles of the devil.  (NKJV)

I was a cracked vessel for over 7 years…  I was in the Word every day, and was wearing the Helmet of Salvation…(Ephesians 6:17)…   I prayed every day…(Ephesians 6:18)…  I thought I was wearing the belt of truth and the breastplate of righteousness…(Ephesians 6:14)…  I had faith as my shield against Satan’s fiery darts…(Ephesians 6:16)…  But my feet were not shod with the preparation of the gospel of peace;, as penned by Paul in…Ephesians 6:15

I wasn’t sharing the gospel of Christ on a regular basis (only twice in 7 years), as all Christians are commanded by Jesus to do, with His last spoken words before ascending to heaven…Matthew 28:19-20

 Without the Holy Spirit in charge of all that we say and do…we aren’t motivated to live Christ centered lives that will have us sharing the gospel of Christ every time God places someone in our path to share our faith…

It wasn’t until June 4th, 2009…over 7 years from my salvation, that I prayed to God to take back control of my life…as I finally submitting 100% control of my life to Him, to use me as He saw fit for His purposes…

Once the filling of the Holy Spirit at salvation is allowed to be compromised by any unconfessed sin…we must confess and repent of any and all sins, to again be walking in the Spirit…Galatians 5:16

1 John 1:9…   If we confess our sins, He is faithful and just to forgive us our sins and to cleanse us from all unrighteousness. (NKJV)

God wants us to be obedient to His Word, as we live for Christ…  Being filled with (under total control by) the Holy Spirit, is an ongoing daily undertaking…and any sin that we commit, left unconfessed before God, will hinder our sweet fellowship with the Lord, and undermine God’s richest blessings reserved for His obedient children…

Heavenly Father, I am ever so thankful for the protection of Holy Spirit, which goes before me to protect me from evil…  I pray Father, that each reader absorbs all that Your Word is unfolding for us in this study about Your protective spiritual armor…and how important is to be worn in its entirety…  I pray others can learn from my mistakes, and remain humbled and obedient to the leading of the Holy Spirit…  I pray now for Your urging all of Your children of this importance… And I thank You now for answered prayer, in Jesus’ most precious name, and for His sake…Amen…

Blessings in Christ, bruce

References:

 

  1. Here is a link for this most important days writing, about how God’s grace is received to become a Christian in God’s eyes; through understanding and obeying the gospel of our Lord Jesus Christ… http://godsmanforever.com/2014/10/26/the-truth-about-sin-10262014-by-bruce-reposted-from-7112013/

 

Picture credit:  https://www.pinterest.com/pin/310185493065263742/

 

 

About Godsmanforever

I present posts about God's Word, with a personal focus on how God's grace is received through saving faith in the Lord Jesus Christ... Sinners must understand and obey the Gospel of our Lord Jesus Christ... See this link for more... http://godsmanforever.com/2014/10/26/the-truth-about-sin-10262014-by-bruce-reposted-from-7112013/
This entry was posted in Bible, Catholic, Christ, Christianity, Daily Devotion, Exortation, faith, God, Gospel, Holiness, Hope, Jesus Christ, Love, Mercy, Peace, Praise, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

