“EXCUSES, EXCUSES, EXCUSES!” 2/27/2014

“Our Daily Bread”     http://odb.org/
The Daily Devotions of Greg Laurie                                 
http://www.harvest.org/devotional/daily-devotions/home.ht   
“Homily Grits Devotional”   http://www.homilygrits.com
 
Written by Dave Boller for “Working for Christ” @   http://work4christ.wordpress.com/

 

http://work4christ.wordpress.com/2014/02/21/excuses-excuses-excuses/

 

EXCUSES, EXCUSES, EXCUSES!

by “Working for Christ”

 

As they were walking along the road, a man said to Him, “I will follow you wherever you go.” Jesus replied, “Foxes have dens and birds have nests, but the Son of Man has no place to lay his head.” He said to another man, “Follow me.” But he replied, “Lord, first let me go and bury my father.” Jesus said to him, “Let the dead bury their own dead, but you go and proclaim the kingdom of God.” Still another said, “I will follow you, Lord; but first let me go back and say goodbye to my family.” Jesus replied, “No one who puts a hand to the plow and looks back is fit for service in the kingdom of God.”

 

Follow Me

 

Jesus was not being callous when He replied, “Let the dead bury their own dead,” and “No one who puts a hand to the plow and looks back is fit for service in the kingdom of God.” He was stating a simple truth that is still valid today. We have the choice to follow the world’s way or God’s way.

 

“I’ll start tithing just as soon as I make enough money to get myself out of debt.”

 

“I’ll start reading the bible when I can find the time to sit down and relax. A time when I don’t have to think about my work plans for tomorrow.”

 

“I’ll help feed the poor when I get a little extra time and money on my hands.”

 

Excuse, excuses, excuses! We can always come up with an excuse to follow the world’s way. Jesus doesn’t buy our excuses. He is commanding us to “follow” Him. That means we are to proclaim His love to the world – before we get out of bed, when we get into the shower, as we’re driving to work, as we read our emails, when we engage our co-workers and customers, while we drive home, and when we spend time with our loved ones! There are no excuses. When Jesus says, “Follow Me,” that’s exactly what He means.

 

Have you ever heard of anyone who on his or her deathbed has said, “I wish I had spent more time at work and less time with my family or with God.”?

 

If we base our decisions on our own security and comfort, we will have a hard time following the path God has laid out for us. It’s always easy to look back and see our mistakes. How much better would it be if we would look forward and avoid those mistakes?

 

Jesus has said to each one of us, “Follow me”. I can’t think of any good reason why we shouldn’t, can you?

 

Work for Christ

Enjoy your day, “Working for Christ”!

About Godsmanforever

I present posts about God's Word, with a personal focus on how God's grace is received through saving faith in the Lord Jesus Christ... Sinners must understand and obey the Gospel of our Lord Jesus Christ... See this link for more... https://godsmanforever.com/2014/10/26/the-truth-about-sin-10262014-by-bruce-reposted-from-7112013/
This entry was posted in Bible, Catholic, Christ, Christianity, Daily Devotion, Exortation, faith, God, Holiness, Hope, Jesus Christ, Love, Mercy, Peace, Praise, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.